BP4 Live Binders

16 Mar

That is right fellow educators it is alive but in binders; Live Binders!  This is the newest of my findings in emergent technology to help you be the best you can be in the classroom.  Live Binders is a web based application (no download required) that is free for the basic version.  This version allows for 100MB of storage and an upload limit of up to 5MB.  Education pricing is available.

Why Live Binders?

  • Upload links, PDFs and jpegs to one central binder
  • Easy to organize with tabs and sub tabs
  • Presentation mode for use with SmartBoards and laptops
  • Special “LiveBinder It” button for your toolbar makes adding to your binder(s) a snap
  • Go paperless one binder at a time

Your Live Binders aren’t just for your lesson plans.  Here are two examples of other ways to use them, first a substitute binder, and second a parent resource binder.  Click on the photos to enlarge the photo for details.

Notice the labels on the tabs

Notice the labels on the tabs

For use on your school web page

For use on your school web page

Click here, Live Binders, to learn more and sign up for your free account.  And, then check out my first binder below.

My very first Live Binder!  It was easy to create.  I just uploaded all the pages I had already saved in my dropbox.  Next, I went to BrainPop, and searched for the videos I want to use.  Once I was on the correct page, I just hit my “LiveBinder It” button on the toolbar and it automatically selected my Pi Day binder.  Of course, there is a drop down bar for you to select any binder you want to add your content to.

8 Responses to “BP4 Live Binders”

  1. nicolebaselice March 17, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    Your post about Live Binders could not come at a better time! I was spring cleaning this week (my desk was a disaster) and I had piles of papers from the units I had purchased on Teachers Pay Teachers. I save them all to my drop box, but I also have my own content that I use when I teach. I hated to part with the paper copies, but I knew that I would never have time to 3 hole punch them and put them in binders. I like to think I will do that over Spring Break, but I know better! This tool will be PERFECT for me. I can create binders for each unit and then add links to videos, websites, add photos of sample projects, and scan in my teacher created assessments.

    Do you think that students could use this tool for research projects or book reports? They can maybe add content as a group in class, and then do additional research at home.

    Have you considered adding some pie recipes to your binder? I have a great banana cream if you are interested!

    Thanks again for the great site suggestion!

    • Sheila Phipps March 17, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      I would love the banana cream pie recipe. Also, I love your thought about having student binders. We call our notebooks interactive, but this would make for the “real” kind of interaction. Thanks!

  2. rewaconner March 17, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    Hello Peach, That’s Me!
    Your recent post on the Live Binders is great. I was just looking at all the digital files that I have tucked away on 10 flash drives that I need to organize soon. I was at this moment debating going to Best Buy and purchasing an external hard to storage some files. I believe at present I will try out Live Binders and create some binders for my files and digital projects.
    Now, I want to start my students on Live Binders for their digital assets and course portfolio. I see potential with this tool to help organize digital files. Thanks for your research.

    • Sheila Phipps March 17, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

      Rewa,

      I am so glad you could find this to be useful. Be sure and share your first binder with me. I love seeing other people’s creations.

      Sheila

  3. Cayla Paustain March 17, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Hey Sheila!
    Thanks for sharing live binders with us! I can envision how this can save me tons of space! I have been thinking lately about how I would be able to organize materials when I get my own classroom, especially since a lot of my files are all digital now it seems like a waste of space to print them all out to store them! This is a great solution!

    As a substitute teacher right now, I am wondering how their example of a substitute binder would work? In most of the classrooms I go in I don’t have access to the teachers computer log-ins, and by the time i turned on the computer and found the website, I don’t know how much time I would have to actually get ready for the day.

    Have you thought about using this to organize all of your units materials? You showed us your pie example, maybe this could be used to organize all units.

    Perhaps you could use this tool for your students. I know you have older students, who probably don’t have the best organization! Maybe this could help them with some sort of organization?

    • Sheila Phipps March 17, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      Cayla,

      I am so glad you will be able to organize all your lesson information virtually. This will be such a fantastic way to move your materials from class to class or to other schools. Thank you for the idea of using the binders with my students. I think I will try this.

      Sheila

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BP5 My desk is a mess | Teach Like A Mathinista - March 17, 2013

    […] of my purchased and teacher created materials.  Somehow, I am still not able to maintain order.  Peaches N’ Blog’s post about LiveBinders came just in the knick of time.  In an attempt to do some spring cleaning, […]

  2. BP5 The tools just keep coming | "Being Crazy Isn't Enough" -Dr. Seuss - March 17, 2013

    […] Sheila reviewed a free site called Live Binders. This tool is like a digital binder, you can save all of your files in a organized way! As a beginning teacher this seems like an amazing alternative to file cabinets full of binders! Since most of my files are digital it seems pointless to print them out just to put them in a drawer. Live Binders are here to save the day! You can check out her full review and my comments here. […]

Leave a comment